HomeSocial Education


Like Tweet Pin it Share Share Email


  • What is the central government and the state government?
  • Do you want to know about the total states in India?

Now Let’s talk about India. 1947 India gained its Liberty and became a free country. But Before 1947 India was divided into many princely states. But after that India form the central government. And the central governments properly divide into different states and union territories. [ Total states in India and states of India list ]

Indian government divides states according to people and its common culture or its traditions. In India, people speak many languages according to areas.

About India and states of India list

Friends you already know that India is a very big country. In India, more than 120 crore people live here. We all know that India is a peaceful country. In India people live in peace. But they face many problems. Sometimes they face the problems of shortage of water, sometimes related to floods and sometimes a scarcity of food.

So it is not possible to look after the welfare of all the people. Hence we elect a government and union leader in central government to do this work.

  • In 1901, the population of India was 24 crore.


The central government of India notices people live in India and look the interest of the people live in the whole country. The head of the central government is in Delhi. Delhi is the capital of India.

We know that the president of India is the head of our country. We all respect our president because he is representative of our country. The president has many councils of ministers because he need help to do his work. Prime Minister is the head of the councils of ministers.

  1. Who was the first prime minister of India?
  2. Who was the first president of India?
    Ans: Comment your answer in the comment box.

In India, the member of parliament is directly elected by the people. After passing 5 years elections were held in India. The member of parliament get together and discuss the problems facing the whole country. Member of the parliament also makes laws.


So friends, now we talk about total states in India or states of India list. In this section, you read about state government and after that, you get a chart of total states in India. First, let’s talk about state government.

India is divided into small parts. Today the total states in India are 29. Each states of India has its own capital. The states of India headed by the governor. The states of India is also headed by chief ministers and other ministers of the state government. All ministers of states of India meet together and plan “ how to work and make development in the state.” The minister of states of India lives in the state capital.

The states of India are subdivided into districts. The district magistrate looks after the need and problem of own district. The central and state government work together for the progress of the total states in India and the country.


In India, there is some land which is not considered under 29 states of India. Hence, this is directly control by central government. So, we know it Union Territories. According to India map 7 union territories in India.

Delhi is a Union Territory. delhi is the status of national capital territory (NCT). 

Lieutenant governor control union territory and reports to the president. So, friends, there are 2 exceptions. The NCT of Delhi and the union territory of Puducherry have both lieutenant governors and chief ministers.

As a result, the Andaman and Nicobar islands is the largest in an area and the Lakshadweep is the smallest in an area.



So, friends, this is the chart of total states in India. Please read and learn state and capital in India because it helps you perform better. Finally, I explain you all the topic related to this post. So please visit regularly and subscribe to this blog. Because you can get all the update of our latest post.

S. No                     STATE                       CAPITAL
1 Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar
2 Assam Dispur
3 Bihar Patna
4 Chhattisgarh Raipur
5 Goa Panaji
6 Gujarat Gandhinagar
7 Haryana Chandigarh
8 Himachal Pradesh Shimla
9 Jammu and Kashmir Srinagar
10 Jharkhand Ranchi
11 Karnataka Bengaluru
12 Kerala Thiruvananthapuram
13 Madhya Pradesh Bhopal
14 Maharashtra Mumbai
15 Manipur Imphal
16 Meghalaya Shillong
17 Mizoram Aizawl
18 Nagaland Kohima
19 Odisha Bhubaneswar
20 Punjab Chandigarh
21 Rajasthan Jaipur
22 Sikkim Gangtok
23 Tamil Nadu Chennai
24 Telangana Hyderabad
25 Tripura Agartala
26 Uttar Pradesh Lucknow
27 Uttarakhand Dehradun
28 West Bengal Kolkata
29 Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad


S. NO                           UNION TERRITORIES                     CAPITAL
1 Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair
2 Chandigarh Chandigarh
3 Dadar and Nagar Haveli Silvassa
4 Delhi Delhi
5 Lakshadweep Kavaratti
6 Puducherry Pondicherry
7 Daman and Diu Daman


Comments (1)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *